Supporting students to reach their potential

Last Thursday, thirty-eight students were awarded nearly $80,000 worth of scholarships at the College.

Following the acknowledgement to country by Kirra Dyer, the Master welcomed the Chair and Board members, donors and friends, conveying her appreciation on behalf of our students here who value greatly, the generosity of those who have established scholarships and continue to support the College in so many ways, without asking for anything in return.

Ms Alwyn said “ for generations, financial support and assistance through scholarships, prizes and grants has always been vital for students, however more now than ever before to ensure that talented students from lower SES backgrounds are supported to succeed, and to enable all students to reach their full potential so that they can explore all the opportunities that life as a university student offers.  As a College, we have a responsibility to ensure that our future leaders come from a variety of backgrounds and experiences and scholarships are just one way to enable that to happen”.

Scholarships based on academic performance, contribution to the College, service to the wider community, music, sportsmanship and financial need were awarded, listed below:

The Lewis Scholarship Ben Massey B.Finance, Mildura VIC
Sarina Ferguson B.Law/B.Commerce, Hamilton VIC
Alexander Makarowsky B.Engineering, Adelaide SA
The Jeremy and Timothy Pascoe Scholarship Evie de Jager B.Education/B.Arts, Hamilton VIC
Sir Ronald Fisher Medal Clare Dixon B.Science, Bunbury WA
Sir Ronald Fisher Scholarship Ryan Burley M.Philosophy (Physics), Mt Gambier SA
Helen Reid Scholarship Kardinia Caputo B.Education/B.Arts, Renmark SA
Sir Keith Angas Essay Prize Henry Hole B.Media/B.International Studies, Naracoorte SA
The Archie McArthur Scholarship Travis Kuchel B.Engineering/B.Finance, Clare SA
The Gavin Walkley Scholarship Rhiannon Bruce B.Optometry (Vision Sciences), Watervale SA
The Don Laidlaw Prize Tom Edney B.Commerce, Melbourne VIC
Chelsea Hammond B.Health Science, Bordertown SA
The DL & ME Pank Scholarship Romina Gilardi B.Education/B.Arts, Mildura VIC
Meekah Zangari B.Physiotherapy, Renmark SA
The Rev’d Faithfull Bickersteth Scholarship Isaac Montefiore B.Construction Mgmt, Alice Springs NT
The Alumni Scholarship Chad Lennon B.Health and Medical Science, Alice Springs NT
The Sholto Douglas Scholarship Danielle Boniface MBBS, Melbourne VIC
Lukas Egger MBBS, Hamilton VIC
Carmelo Macri MBBS, Canberra ACT
Hamish Storey MBBS, Tamborine Mountain QLD
The A R LeMessurier Scholarship Niamh Rees MBBS, Melbourne VIC
The John M Boully Scholarship (continuing) Ashlee Nichol MBBS, Castlemaine VIC
The Alister McLeod Sports Grant Taylor Hand B.Human Movement, Mildura VIC
Liam McMaugh B.Engineering, Hamilton VIC
The Women of St Mark’s Scholarship Nicki Bakaj B.Science, Renmark SA
The Craig Grocke Industry Research and Design Grant Natalie Clifford B.Interior Architecture, Mildura VIC
Jacob Graham B.Architecture, Mildura VIC
The Margaret Beith Scholarship Tegan Griffiths B.Physiotherapy, Waikerie SA
Callum Kain B.Science/B.Education, Mt Gambier SA
Madeleine Whitehouse B.Occupational Therapy, Whyalla SA
The M E Tothill Scholarship Aaron Cunningham B.Civil Aviation, Tarrington VIC
The Harold Fisher Scholarship Kane McAskill B.Economics/B.Finance, Alice Springs NT
The P & B Greenland Scholarship Ryan Casey B.Music, Loxton SA
The Studd Bursary Kirra Dyer B.Exercise Physiology, Renmark SA
The Alfred Lendon Memorial Trust Scholarship Alasdair Leslie MBBS, Sydney NSW
The Programmed Scholarship Brayden Jenke B.Engineering (Sports), Renmark SA
The Sodexo Scholarships April Catford B.Viticulture and Oenology, Gladstone SA
Bethany Hayden B.Media/B.Arts, Mildura VIC
Molly Healy B.Law/B.Arts, Mildura VIC
Ryan Morrow B.Health and Medical Sciences, Horsham VIC
Baillie Trenwith B.Science, Renmark SA