New committee elected for Old Collegians’ Association

The recent Annual General Meeting of the Old Collegians’ Association warmly thanked members of the retiring Old Colls’ Committee, led by Michael van Dissel, as a new Committee was elected for 2022-23 with Riley Glynn as President.

Standing down as President after serving for the maximum term permitted under the Old Colls’ Constitution, Michael van Dissel was thanked by the Head of College, Professor Markwell, for “the dedicated service which you have given to the College [in this role] over the last three years, and for your nine months as Acting President.”

“It has been a pleasure to work with you in that role, and I look forward with enthusiasm to your continuing contributions to the College through the Old Collegians’ Association, the College Foundation, and in other ways.”

Michael van Dissel will continue to serve on the Old Colls’ Committee as Secretary, in succession to Lachlan Flynn, and as Immediate Past President, in succession to Craig Williams.

Lachlan and Craig were thanked for their service to the Old Colls and the College, as was the retiring Treasurer, John Bowers, who has been succeeded by Ben Jenner.

The following General Committee members were elected:

Re-elected: Bree Downs-Woolley, Will Dufty, Lucy Bunge, Alex Shepherd, Bronte Phillips, Nicholas Marzhol, Derry Geber, Ben Massey, Sophie Ludbrook

New members: Charlotte Fox, James Delegat, Maddy Taylor.

Liam Hay, Evie de Jager, and Taylor Glover did not seek re-election, and were thanked for their contributions to the Old Colls.

In offering “hearty congratulations” to Riley Glynn on his election as President, the Head of College said: “If Riley serves the maximum term open to a president under the Old Colls constitution, his presidency will conclude in 2025, our Centenary year – and what a year it is going to be!”

The next scheduled Old Collegians’ Association event, to which all Old Colls and friends of the College are invited, is drinks on Friday 28 October to mark the 40th anniversary of coeducation. Details will be available here soon.

Top – Old Collegians’ Association President Riley Glynn and Professor Don Markwell
Bottom – Old Collegians Finn McGown and Lucy Bunge with Immediate Past President of the Old Collegians’ Association Michael van Dissel