“Punching above our weight” in South Australian politics

Four Old Collegians were elected or re-elected to the South Australian Parliament in the State elections held on 19 March – including one appointed to be the third most senior minister in the new Government. Congratulations to –

  • the Hon. Kyam Maher MLC (St Mark’s 1991-92, 1995-97) on being re-elected to the Legislative Council at the head of the Labor ticket, and being appointed as Attorney General, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Minister for Industrial Relations and Public Sector, and Leader of Government Business in the Legislative Council. Kyam’s talk with students at St Mark’s last year was greatly appreciated.
  • the Hon. David Basham MP (St Mark’s 1987-89) on being re-elected as the Member for Finniss (Liberal). David served as Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development in the previous Government.
  • the Hon. Dan Cregan MP (St Mark’s 2003-06), Speaker of the House of Assembly, on being re-elected as the Member for Kavel (Independent).
  • Ashton Hurn MP (St Mark’s 2009-10) on being elected as the Member for Schubert (Liberal).

We also congratulate other Old Collegians who stood for Parliament – such as Beth Leese (St Mark’s 2017-19), the Greens candidate in Stuart.

All who stood for Parliament have continued the College’s tradition of community service and good citizenship which dates back to our founders, and we congratulate and thank them all.

Left to right: the Hon. Kyam Maher MLC, the Hon. David Basham MP, the Hon. Dan Cregan MP, Ashton Hurn MP