Final Dinner 2018

As the year draws to a close, Final Dinner provided the perfect opportunity to thank all those who have contributed to the College community through service, academic, leadership and sport. Prior to dinner, students and guests attended the Final Service at St Peter’s Cathedral where they enjoyed a performance of ‘I want it that way’ by the College Choir, conducted by Ryan Burley. The College’s Chaplain Rev’d Grant Moore gave a sermon asking us to reflect on the year and playing our part in positive societal change. His sermon can be read in full here.

Final Dinner is always a bittersweet event, as we say goodbye and thank you to those leaving College, and celebrate the successes of the year. First year student Arna Westhead gave an acknowledgement of country to start proceedings for the night. It is customary to raise a glass to the College and to the Leavers who were this year given wise words of advice from fifth year Henry Hole and fourth year Kardinia Caputo. The Master added, “congratulations to every member of the College Club for playing your part in supporting or participating in all aspects of College life and for believing in one another. To those that are leaving – I wish you the best of luck – we will certainly miss you. The friends with whom you have shared the last few years will no doubt be friends for life. Your experience at St Mark’s is bound by enormous affection, by a shared experience of a time that will almost certainly never come again. And whilst your experience at university and St Mark’s College offers great personal opportunity, it also brings with it significant responsibility. Do the most you can and good luck.”

The celebrations continued as presentations were made to 20 graduating students from one or more degrees, a testament to their hard work and dedication to their studies.

Alex Makarowsky is presented as the fifth St Mark’s College Honorary Scholar.

The College has been fairly sporadic in its awarding of Honorary Scholars, with two elected in the 1930s and a further four elected in 1981 and 1982 for outstanding scholars who have achieved at least a distinction in every subject and every examination sat during their time at university, so long as they were residing at the College. In 2018 the Master was very pleased to make this award to a very worthy recipient. Alexander Makarowsky has achieved High Distinctions for all subjects undertaken aside from one, whilst studying a Bachelor of Engineering (Telecommunications) at the University of Adelaide. We congratulate Alexander for this prestigious honour of being awarded St Mark’s College’s seventh Honorary Scholar.

Honorary Scholar: Alexander Makarowsky
Collegians’ Prize:
Benjamin Massey
Female Athlete of the year: Bronte Phillips
Male Athlete of the year: Benjamin Massey
Female Fresher of the Year: Isobel McFarlane
Male Fresher of the Year: Riley Glynn

Freshers of the Year Isobel McFarlane and Riley Glynn with the President of the College Club and Master.

Congratulations to all students on the 2018 academic year, a College is little without the contribution and passion of our students. St Mark’s truly is a place you belong for life.

Values colours
Awarded to students who display a strong sense of values in the pursuit of excellence both at College and University.

Clare Smylie
Ashlee Nichol
Jordan Campbell
Ryan Morrow
Henry Hole

Academic Colours
Awarded to students who have demonstrated the best track record of results for their years in College.

First year: Sarah Hair
Second year: Connor Bakaj
Third year: Alasdair Leslie
Fourth year: Clare Dixon
Overall: Alex Makarowsky

Service colours

Alex Makarowsky
Lachlan Strachan

Sporting and Arts Colours

Tennis Hugo Lee Tessa Megaw
Swimming Luke Andrews Erin Roberts
Table Tennis Patrick Glynn Tessa Megaw
Debating Dylan Moore
Netball Riley Glynn Alice Hickman
Football Carson Clark Madeleine Hahnel
Soccer Nicholas Marzohl Lilly Oberer
Basketball Kane McAskill Sarah Hayman
Hockey Benjamin Massey Courtney Dinnage
Volleyball Riley Arnold Bronte Phillips
Athletics Mitchell Olive Lucy Bunge
Arts Evening Mitchell Olive Kardinia Caputo
College Revue Ryan Burley

President of the College Club, Mr Benjamin Massey, presents a toast to the College.
The 2019 Committee.